Club Executive 2020

Rory McKeown

Rory McKeown has been Club President since 2011 and part of the executive committee since 2009. He was born and raised in Lethbridge, first picking up the game at Catholic Central High School in 1998/99 under the coaching expertise of Jerry Hill, Mark Mundell, Ike Edwards, and Scott Chadsey. After completing high school, Rory played for the Lethbridge Rugby Club U-18 team in the summer of 99, going on to the CRU Finals. Rory followed this up by playing for the Devils Rugby program of Lethbridge Community College. Rory subsequently took a short break from rugby before returning to the Lethbridge Rugby Club in 2004 to play for the newly promoted Men’s Division I team and compete in the Alberta Cup (building on the success of 2003, where the Division II team took gold at provincials. 

Overall, Rory has enjoyed 15 seasons of rugby (including a winter played in England) and is looking forward to the years to come and the transition from active player to “deck crew” – cheering on future players with a cold beer in hand and continuing to help build rugby in Southern Alberta.


Vice President Facilities-

The position of VP Facilities for the Lethbridge Rugby Club is currently vacant. 



Jason Daffy

Jason is in his second year as Treasurer of the Lethbridge Rugby Club. As the Assistant Controller to a well-established company, Charlton and Hill Ltd., Jason will bring a considerable amount of financial experience to the Club. A native of Medicine Hat, Alberta, Jason moved to Lethbridge in 2003 to complete his Bachelor of Management degree at the University of Lethbridge. Since then he has graduated with a degree in Accounting, met his wife, has two fantastic kids, and now calls Lethbridge his home. Jason is an immense sports enthusiast, which makes this opportunity as Treasurer of the Rugby Club even more rewarding.


Morgan Elemans

Morgan is in her inaugural year as Secretary for the Lethbridge Rugby Club after a succesful rookie season with the club in 2019.



Vice President Men’s Rugby-

Wesley Tanner

Wes is in his third year with the Lethbridge Rugby Club and his first year as the Vice President of Men’s Rugby.


 Vice President Women’s Rugby-
Jennifer Izyk

Jen was first introduced to the sport of rugby while in high school, and initially wasn’t a fan. In grade 12, however, she decided to give the sport another shot after seeing her brothers play and enjoy the game. Jen followed this high school experience by joining the University of Lethbridge Trolls while taking her nursing degree, and upon settling in Lethbridge after her graduation became part of the Lethbridge Rugby Club. She has now been playing for 8 consecutive seasons with the club and has been part of the executive for 6 years, this being her second year as VP Women’s Rugby. She loves the thrill of the game and the sense of belonging that comes with being part of a rugby family and has no intentions of hanging up the boots anytime soon.


Vice President Junior Rugby-

Alan Nielsen

Alan is in his fourth year with the club, and his first year as the VP of Junior Rugby. Alan grew up in Calgary and picked up rugby at Strathcona Tweedsmuir School. After high school, he played one season with the Calgary Rams and part of a season with the Dinos. Then came a long hiatus while Alan pursued his studies – obtaining a BSc and a Master’s at the University of Lethbridge before moving to Edinburgh, Scotland for his PhD. While in Scotland, Alan decided to escape partially from brainy things and began playing for the third XV of Heriot’s Rugby Club – one of the oldest teams in Scotland – and fell in love with the game all over again. After returning from Scotland, Alan got involved with the Lethbridge Rugby Club and has found rugby a great diversion from his job as a researcher, and a great way to build friendships.


Previous Executives: